On 8 December 2010 the European Commission approved and published the EU Strategy for the Danube Region, resulting in a Communication and an Action PlanThe Danube Strategy is a project of the European Union which includes the countries covered by the Danube Cooperation Process: Germany (the Baden-Württemberg and Bavaria Lands), Austria, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovenia, Croatia, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina , Montenegro, Romania, Bulgaria, Moldova and Ukraine. Of these states, eight are EU Member States and others are involved in various initiatives for cooperation with the European Union, some of them with the stated aim of becoming a future EU member.

The Action Plan is divided into four "pillars" and 11 priority areas.

The four pillars of the strategy are: connectivity (intermodal transport, culture and tourism, energy networks), environmental protection (water management, biodiversity protection and risk management),increasing prosperity in the Danube Region (education, research, competitiveness) and improvinggovernance system (capacity building and internal security).

The implementation phase of the strategy generated a new communication platform, by creating the main information portal

Implementation of EUSDR at macro-regional level

Each of the 11 priority areas is coordinated by two countries in the region, which ensure the implementation of the Strategy through Priority Area Coordinators. Priority Area 11 (cooperation in security and fight against organized crime) is coordinated at macro-regional level by Germany and Bulgaria.

Implementation of EUSDR in Moldova

For the implementation of EUSDR in Moldova, a national coordinator and a group of experts responsible for the implementation of the Strategy on the 11 priority areas (PA), were appointed. The national coordinator is Mr. Veaceslav Guţuţui, Deputy Minister of Regional Development and Construction. The responsible for the implementation of the Strategy on PA 11, are the representatives of the Ministry of Interior and National Anticorruption Centre.

Copyright © 2021 National Anticorruption Center